Sign in to follow this  
Gunstar

OB Computer Scientists!

Hey guys, after joining the OB community, I have met soooo many of you who study computer science; whether you are doing it for GCSE, A-levels, at UNI, as a job or just for fun, this thread is for you! So I decided to make a thread for us to discuss about ... you know... computing stuff! Who knows... maybe we can even help each other out with our projects! :45:

So why don't you post a bit about yourself and what programming languages you know or are learning/want to learn.

So I am obviously quite interested in comp sci, otherwise wouldn't be making this thread. I am currently studying maths, further maths and computing at A-level, dropped physics in year 12 coz it was too much work for low reward :D. I have currently applied for a Comp Science degree at a few Universities, which i won't name yet coz I need the grades to get in first :P

I am quite familiar with Visual basic atm...been doing it for 2 years in my sixth form. I would say I am okay at it, but there are always 100 more things to learn for every new thing you learn in a programming language so... the possibilities are endless!

For my Year 13 comp project (AQA), I made a system where Student homework details are stored and let's a teacher save the marks/grades of each homework they have set after marking. Those details can then be viewed by the students and teachers and the teachers have a few options which lets them search for particular homework they desire. It uses a vb.net program front-end and a Access database which stores all the data, the front-end program uses SQL to insert, select, update, delete the data from the database through the frond-end program based on the user inputs. Believe it or not had to use the System-Life Cycle steps to do this project and let's just say there were a lot of diagrams, writing, explaining and about 200 pages involved. Ended up getting a A* for it in the end. :ugeek: