Sign in to follow this  
Dyer51

A Short History of Dyer

Hi,

I'm Dyer, and a lot of you probably don't know me. Those who do, I'm fully prepared for the how long are you back this time jokes. ;)

I'm 23, at university studying linguistics and in my spare time spend too much time gaming. I play all sorts but recently have been playing a lot of Paradoxes grand strategy titles (CK2, V2 etc).

Recently, I had a case of nostalgia and thought of you guys, so here I am again. :D

TL;DR for the below - I've ended up giving my history of involvement in this community. I've been around a long time and seen a lot of changes.

I've been a member (in some way) of this community for a long time, going back to the community that existed before Outbreak, called VooDoo. I was an admin in VooDoo where I met people like Biggles (I think we started playing at roughly the same time). This community ultimately died, and we all went separate ways. McLovin (who also owned VooDoo along with Kriss) went on to ultimately form Outbreak. After a while I joined for the first time, in the glorious days before trials existed (can't remember how I heard about it). Joined early 2012ish (I think).

I played for a while. Became admin again. I ultimately left when I had a job, and admining the late night server became a bigger job than my actual work. Dealing with petty arguments is tedious especially when people can't read simply rules. This must have been in about mid 2012.

I joined Outbreak again around early 2014. A lot of the old faces I knew from the first time I joined OB had gone. Some of you I know now (that are still here) had join in between these points, with Conor being one of them (I think). A lot of the people I got to know from this point are gone again, sadly. I stayed until about September 2014, and I left when I started university. I intended to stay, but the new server wouldn't run on my laptop.